The Elephant Girl

by James Patterson (Author), Ellen Banda-Aaku (Author), Sophia Krevoy (Author)
Read sample online Download sample
EPUB
Unlimited loans, 2 years, One at a time
Details

AN INDIE NEXT PICK AND AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH!
 
#1 bestselling author James Patterson and award-winning author Ellen Banda-Aaku deliver an unforgettable story of a girl, an elephant, and their life-changing friendship—perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, Pax, and Because of Winn-Dixie.
 
Clever, sensitive Jama likes elephants better than people. While her classmates gossip—especially about the new boy, Leku—twelve-year-old Jama takes refuge at the watering hole outside her village. There she befriends a baby elephant she names Mbegu, Swahili for seed. 
 
When Mbegu’s mother, frightened by poachers, stampedes, Jama and Mbegu are blamed for two deaths—one elephant and one human. Now Leku, whose mysterious and imposing father is head ranger at the conservancy, may be their only lifeline.    
 
Inspired by true events, The Elephant Girl is a moving exploration of the bonds between creatures and the power of belonging. 
 
“Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying.” – Kirkus Reviews
“This powerful novel…is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home.” – Publishers Weekly

Publication date
July 25, 2022
Publisher
Page count
272
ISBN
9780316317030
Paper ISBN
9780316316927
File size
1 MB
The publisher has not provided information about accessibility.