A Lady of Quality

Download sample
EPUB
55 loans, One at a time
Details
EPUB
40 loans, 10 Concurrent loans
Details
EPUB
5 loans, 5 Concurrent loans
Details

Clorinda’s mother dies giving birth to her, and she grows up mostly raised by servants. Her absentee father eventually takes a shine to her at a young age, and she becomes a spoiled tomboy. She wears man’s clothes, smokes cigars, drinks and engages in other unladylike behaviour.

However, when she turns 15, Clorinda decides to shed the man’s clothes and become a lady.

Her beauty and grace takes everyone by storm. Soon, she is pursued by suitors from surrounding areas. With her sister Anne by her side, Clorinda navigates between her suitors, the expectations set on her by society and unexpected love.

"A Lady of Quality" is a Victorian gothic romance set in the late 1600s. Fans of the genre will likely enjoy the melodrama, questionable morals and ploys of the characters.

For fans of Marissa Meyer, Tricia Levenseller and Ann Radcliffe.



Frances Eliza Hodgson Burnett (24 November 1849 – 29 October 1924) was an American-English novelist and playwright. She is best known for the three children’s novels "Little Lord Fauntleroy" (published in 1885–1886), "A Little Princess" (1905) and "The Secret Garden" (1911). Born in Cheetham, England, Frances moved with her family to the United States after her father’s death in 1865. Burnett started writing at the age of 19 to help earn money for the family, she gained popularity writing both children’s fiction and romantic novels for adults.

Publication date
October 12, 2021
Publisher
Page count
212
ISBN
9788726804348
The publisher has not provided information about accessibility.